SAVIR 2024 Award Recipients

SAVIR 2024 Award Recipients

By: Alexandra de Leon Date: March 20th, 2024

Two Harborview Injury Prevention & Research Center (HIPRC) members were selected to receive honors at the 2024 SAVIR Conference.

  • 2024 Student Plenary Speaker: Hannah Scheuer, MSW, LICSW (HIPRC Trainee)- At the concluding ceremonies of the SAVIR 2024 conference, Scheuer will provide a plenary talk. She will be paired with a SAVIR Board Member who will support her in developing and refining her talk.
  • 2024 Excellence in Violence & Injury Prevention Science Award: Frederick P. Rivara, MD, MPH, (HIPRC Faculty Member)- This award recognizes a mid-career to senior-level scientist whose leadership, research, and service have led to important advancements in violence and injury prevention science.

For more information about the 2024 SAVIR conference, click here >>

Each year, members are invited to submit nominations and a review committee selects a recipient based on criteria that reflect the mission of SAVIR and scientific advancement in violence and injury prevention research.

The Student Plenary Speaker was selected by the Student and Early Career Professionals Committee, Conference Planning Committee, and the SAVIR Board of Directors. The SAVIR Excellence in Violence & Injury Prevention Science nominations were reviewed and selected by the SAVIR award committee.